The Complete Diamond Guide (Discover The Secret & Save Money)

Diamond Guide for Selling Purposes
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

The Diamond Guide is a great way to inform you about what you need to know before you buy any diamond jewellery. Discover more valuable information here!

When you plan to buy any diamond jewellery, you will come across many types of diamond shops and some unfamiliar terms. The following diamond guide is a great way to inform you about what you need to know before buying an engagement ring or a piece of diamond jewellery. 

Diamond Grading Chart 

There is plenty of information online for identifying the grade of your diamond, but it can be a little confusing. The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) created the diamond grading chart to classify diamonds. The GIA classification determines the rarity, quality, and value of diamonds. It’s important to pay attention to detail because a slight factor difference can lead to a massive change in the diamond’s value. 


Check the diamond valuation or the diamond certificate that follows GIA standards. It would make it easier to estimate a price . According to the GIA grading system, a diamond falls under the following grading systems: 

  • Carat Weight: It refers to the weight of a diamond (e.g., 1.0ct, 2.0ct, etc.). The smaller the weight, the lesser the price and value. 

diamond guide for selling

  • GIA Cut Scale: The cut affects the overall fire and brilliance. It grades from the highest to the lowest using simple terms: Excellent, Very Good, Good, Fair and Poor. 



  • GIA Clarity Scale: Diamonds are examined for inclusions and impurities. Clarity ranges between Flawless (FL), Internally Flawless (IF), Very Very Slightly Included (VVS), Very Slightly Included (VS), Slightly Included (SI), and Included (I). The diamonds that grade from VS and above are considered eye-clean by the GIA. 

diamond clarity scale

  • GIA Colour Scale: The absence of colour increases value—the lower the yellow tint, the better the diamond. Diamond colours grade in descending order: D-F(Colorless), G-J (Near Colorless), K-M (Faint), N-R (Very Light), and S-Z (Light). 

diamond for selling purposes

What Grade of Diamond is Best? 

An essential thing to learn about diamonds is that not all diamonds have the same features. Each diamond is a unique gem. They come in different shapes, colours, sizes, and interior features. There is no way to compare one diamond to another; this is why GIA created a grading system known as the 4 C’s in the 1950s. The 4 C’s combination determines the quality of a finished diamond. There is no “perfect” diamond across all 4 C’s. It all depends on personal preferences.  


According to the GIA grading system, a diamond with the following features is graded best: 

  • Cut: The more refined the cut, the higher the grade. It grades from Excellent to Poor. 
  • Colour: Diamond colours grade from D (colourless) to Z (light yellow). Colourless diamonds are the standard for grading and pricing but are rare.  
  • Clarity: It grades from Flawless (FL) to Included (I). A flawless diamond cut is a top grade. Flawless diamonds are rare. 
  • Carat weight: The larger a piece of diamond jewellery, the more expensive the diamond. 


Diamond Grading Report 

A grading lab report accompanies a diamond. It contains information for each diamond’s features based on the 4 C’s, length and width. Understanding the concept of the 4 C’s serves as a diamond guide. There are many gemological laboratories that issue diamond grading reports. These labs evaluate diamonds and provide certificates to verify their grading and evaluation.  


Each laboratory grades differently so results vary, meaning some may grade your diamond better than others. The most reliable and consistent diamond certifications are the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) and American Gem Society (AGS). They grade more thoroughly than other labs. Other labs include: 

  • International Gemological Institute (IGI) 

IGI diamond report

  • European Gemological Laboratory (EGL) 


  • Hoge Raad voor Diamant (HRD) 

HRD Certification

  • Gemological Science International (GSI) 

Diamond Grading Report GSI

Which of the 4 C’s is the Most Important for Diamonds? 

The carat is the most crucial factor for diamonds in the 4 C’s. For any diamond jewellery you choose, carat is the first C to consider before colour, clarity (as long as no blemishes are visible), and cut.  


Diamond Value  

Undoubtedly, the 4 C’s determines how valuable a diamond piece is. However, other factors like culet, girdle thickness, setting, design, brand, and laser inscription affect its value. The value of a diamond is the basis for how much it costs. Look at diamond prices while shopping to see the value you can afford. The stronger the yellow trace of a diamond, the lower its value. 


Diamond Wholesaler Vs. Diamond Brands and Retail 

There are numerous diamond sellers (wholesalers and retailers) all around. Diamond wholesaler only sell to clients willing to buy in large quantities. They do not sell to the public or individual buyers. Regardless, they might sell a single piece through a referral from a friend or family at a lower price than retail stores. But you will need to have a good contact.  

Diamond Wholesaler

On the other hand, diamond retailers sell in single units, in-store or online. Most diamond retailers get their diamond products in large quantities from wholesalers, intending to sell to the public in single units. Diamond wholesalers do not have time to explain the basics of the 4 C’s as retailers will do.  


Diamond Certification 

Diamond certifications are provided by a gemological lab such as the GIA. A diamond certification verifies what you are buying. It describes the specs of a diamond, such as its colour, carat weight, cut quality, clarity, and other characteristics. Never buy a diamond without certification that confirm the consistency of your diamond. 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Close My Cart
Recently Viewed Close